Our Religious Communities

An Innovative Union

The name Catholic Theological Union describes the very nature of CTU. In 1968, inspired by the spirit of Vatican II, three men’s orders, the Franciscans, Passionists, and Servites, decided to unite their respective theology schools. To reflect this innovative union of people, resources, and purpose, they called their new school Catholic Theological Union. In time, more religious communities joined the Union, and today there are 24 members. They form the Corporation that governs the school. In addition, other participating religious communities, who stand faithfully behind the school’s mission and operations, are listed here as well (identified by a *).


Learn more about each community using the links below: