Wednesday, April 28, 2021

The inspiration for this annual event has been the beautiful and challenging words of Jesus’ beatitude, “Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.” Each year Catholic Theological Union is privileged to honor people from all faith traditions and walks of life who exemplify the spirit of that blessing.

Anthony Fauci, MD

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease

Christine Grady, RN, PhD

Chief of the Department of Bioethics
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center  

Recipients of the Blessed are the Peacemakers Award

CTU will honor this remarkable couple for their extraordinary service as courageous healers and public servants,

and their unyielding dedication to the common good.

Registrants, sponsors and their guests will receive exclusive online viewing access and a special event keepsake package in the mail before the virtual event. Please let us know if you would like to receive an invitation or if you are interested in sponsorship opportunities. Please contact Rachel Kuhn at about sponsorship opportunities or other questions.


2020    Cardinal Michael Fitzgerald, M. Afr.

2019    Sr. Helen Prejean, CSJ

2018    Archbishop Christophe Pierre

2017    Ms. Monica McWilliams

2016    25th Anniversary of Trustee Dinner

2015    Dr. Paul Farmer

2014    Rev. Donald Senior, CP

2013    Mrs. Mary McAleese

2012    Mrs. Renée and Mr. Lester Crown Mrs. Shirley and Mr. Pat Ryan

2011    Monsignor Kenneth Velo

2010    Dr. Miguel Díaz

2009    The Jo and Newton Minow Family

2008    The Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies

             University of Notre Dame

2007    Senator John C. Danforth


2006    Mr. Jean Vanier†

2005    One Voice Movement

2004    The Council of Religious Leaders of Metropolitan Chicago

2003    Mr. Steven Spielberg

2002    Cardinal Walter Kasper

2001    Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan

2000    Mr. John Hume†

1999    Ms. Leah Rabin ✡

1998    Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, CSC †

1997    Bishop Raymond E. Goedert, D.D.

1996    Ms. Eunice Kennedy Shriver † Mr. R. Sargent Shriver, Jr. †

1995    Monsignor Michel Sabbah

1994    Mr. Kenneth Woodward

1993    Sr. Rosemary Connelly, RSM

1992    Ms. Margaret Roach